Category Archives: Databases

Vacancies for paid student ambassadors

Thomson Reuters currently have two vacancies for student ambassadors to represent and promote Westlaw and Practical Law services at the University of Law, Guildford.

These roles are external posts, which could be carried out alongside your university studies. Either would be a useful way to develop your online research skills whilst earning, and would provide a valuable addition to your CV.

For more information, including the pay and hours involved, email us at Library-Guildford@law.ac.uk  The closing dates are Friday 25th August for Practical Law and Friday 15th September for Westlaw.

Vacancy for Guildford’s LexisNexis Student Associate 2017-18 (paid)

Do you want to really stand out from the crowd in the search for a training contract?

If the answer is ‘yes’, then an opportunity has arisen to increase your legal research skills and work for a major legal publisher. LexisNexis is looking for a second or third year or postgraduate law student to act as a representative on campus for LexisNexis Online Services.

The successful candidate will offer a small number of hours a week contact time to advise and help other students in their use of these essential research services. He or she will be very approachable and keen to learn how to use the services in depth.

Full training will be given and on-going regular support will be provided. Applicants must be eligible to work in the United Kingdom. The fixed term contract will be for 9 months starting in September 2017. The pay will be £8. 45 an hour.

If you would like to be considered for this role, please apply by 30th April 2017 by email to studentassociates@lexisnexis.co.uk.

Your application should consist of a covering letter and a copy of your C.V. Please state “Student Associate University of Law Guildford” in the subject line of your email. Interviews will be held via Skype during May and June 2017.

All applicants must be available for a 2-3 day training course to be held in London during weeks commencing 14th and 21st August 2017

 

 

 

 

Message for 7 month LPC students – Legal Research Workshop on Thursday 26th January in Room 217 LRC

The library is holding a workshop on general legal research which will include where to start with your legal research, how to use the legal databases Lexis Library, Lexis PSL, Practical Law and Westlaw to identify and locate key commentary resources and also how to find and update cases and legislation. We will also point out the various Legal Research guides available on the library web page and introduce you to the library catalogue.

You can also watch a short video introduction on the ULaw Library services available to you which you can access from the Library web page. It shows you how to search the library catalogue, borrow and renew books, access resources and gives information on printing. Go to library.law.ac.uk. then click  on the ‘Library Induction’ video link box on the right hand side of the page under the ‘Library FAQs’ section.

LexisNexis Student Associate – Paid

LexisNexis Student Associate Recruitment 2016

Do you want to really stand out from the crowd in the search for a training contract?

If the answer is ‘yes’, then an opportunity has arisen to increase your legal research skills and work for a major legal publisher. LexisNexis is looking for a second or third year or postgraduate law student to act as a representative on campus for LexisNexis Online Services.

The successful candidate will be able to offer 5 hours a week contact time to advise and help other students in their use of these essential research services. He or she will be very approachable and keen to learn how to use the services in depth. Full training will be given and on-going regular support will be provided. Applicants must be eligible to work in the United Kingdom. The contract will be for 7 months starting on 1st November 2016.

Salary is £8 per hour/£40 a week plus expenses.

If you would like to be considered for this role, please apply by Friday 14th October 2016 (applications after this date will not be considered), by email to studentassociates@lexisnexis.co.uk. Your application should consist of a covering letter and a copy of your C.V. Please state “Student Associate” and the University of Law branch you are apply for in the subject line of your email. Interviews will be held via Skype during October 2016.

There are vacancies at the following branches of The University of Law: Bloomsbury, Bristol, Chester, Guildford and Moorgate. All applicants must be available for a 1 day training course to be held in London before the start of the contract.

 

LexisLibrary Database Training

An external trainer from Lexis will deliver training for students on how to search the Lexis Library and Lexis PSL legal databases. It will be very useful for your online Legal Research, showing you how to search the different sections of the databases and get the information you need more efficiently.

The workshops will be held in LRC IT Rooms on –

Friday 23rd September 12.30pm, 1.45pm, 3.45pm
Monday 26th September 11am, 12.30pm, 1.45pm, 3.45pm
Tuesday 27th September 12.30pm,1.45pm, 3.45pm
Thursday 29th September 12.30pm,1.45pm, 3.45pm
Wednesday 5th October 11am and 3.45pm

If you would like to attend please sign up on ELITE by going to Student Hub > Events, Activities and Signups > Click on the heading in the Lexis Database Training Folder > Click on the heading of the workshop you want to attend > select purple ‘Signup’ button

 

STUDENT AMBASSADOR REQUIRED (Paid)

Practical Law is recruiting a student ambassador to represent and promote Practical Law services and liaise between students and Practical Law. Ideal candidates would be studying a full-time LPC course.

ROLE: The role is to assist and support students at ULaw Guildford centre in their use of Practical Law. This will include:
• Helping students to use Practical Law resources effectively, including answering queries  by email
• Distributing information about new Practical Law materials or services relevant to the students
• Collating feedback from students about Practical Law
• Promoting Practical Law as a useful tool for students
KEY SKILLS:
• Excellent communication skills
• Familiarity with the Practical Law service (support and training will be provided)
• Proficiency in Outlook and Microsoft Word
WORKING ARRANGEMENT : October 2016 to May 2017 inclusive
REMUNERATION : A fixed fee of up to £180 which is paid monthly (during term times) to deliver a number of set tasks. We would expect these tasks to take on average 5 hours per week to complete.

Interested candidates should submit a CV and covering letter by 31st July 2016 to:
PLstudentambassadors@thomsonreuters.com (stating which ULaw centre you wish to work at)

‘Tips for your Research Project’ Workshop

The Library is holding the above workshop on Wed 20th April from 12.45-1.30pm and Mon 25th April from 12.45-1.30pm in IT Room 218 in the LRC building.

The aim is to show you how to start your research including how to search the library catalogue and the legal databases. We will also consider the assessment guidelines and explain the difference between primary and secondary sources. We will also cover the value of journals as a secondary source and show you how to search for them online and where paper copies are located in the library. Finally we will cover how to reference your sources.

If you wish to attend either of these workshops please sign up on ELITE > Student Hub > Events Activities and Sign-ups.

« Older Entries